Romantic accommodation in houses with a rich history
Enclosed car park + breakfast
We have a car park next to the pension. Each room has its own space. You can enjoy breakfast in the pleasant dining room or on the garden.
Bike storage + wine shop
In the garden there is a garden house with a bike storage. The self service wine shop is open 24h day. You will find there excellent wines from the winery of Moravíno s.r.o.
Wi-Fi + fire place + air conditioning
Wi-Fi internet is available throughout the pension. In some of the rooms you will find a fire place and also air conditioning
Pension Baltazar is located in the former Jewish quarter, in the lower part of the scenic Husova Street. This street is an important part of the urban conservation area. The old Jewish houses create fascinating scenery, watched over by the mighty guardian of the town, the nearby ancient Dietrichstein chateau. This part of town rightly belongs to one of the most beautiful landmarks of the town and here you can enjoy our stylish accommodation
The first written record of Mikulov is dated 1173. In 1414 there were already about 2,500 inhabitants. Mikulov was first developed the Liechtenstein family between 1249 and 1560 as the center of their estate. Between 1575 and 1945 the Dietrichstein family took over rule and the town reached its heyday. An exceptional figure in the history of the town was the prince, cardinal and Bishop of Olomouc František of Dietrichstein. He transformed this provincial town into the temporary center of Moravia. His orientation to renaissance Italian culture and the consequent choice of architects and builders gave the town a new appearance.
The earliest surviving records of the house or plot of land on which the house stands dates back to the 24th of July 1847. The first preserved record in the land owner registry is from the year 1873. In that year, the right of ownership according to the purchase agreement was in the favor of Theresie Fehl to the sum of 3,000 gold pieces.
From the above it is clear that the actual construction of the building took place in the period between those dates. This fact is confirmed by the town plans from 1826 and 1847, where instead of the existing building there is undeveloped vacant space. Therefore, construction had to take place after 1847. It is not clear from the persevered records whether truly first owner and therefore the builder of the house was Mrs. Theresie Fehl. The Engelsmann family became the next property owners in 1908.
The Jewish history of the residents of the home ends in 1933 when the Salaška family bought the house. The oldest surviving drawings and focus come from this period. A sad chapter in its history was the year 1945, when the house was confiscated by the Czechoslovak state. According to a decision of the Resettlement Office in 1949, the right of ownership turned in favor of the new settlers of Mikulov. This moment marks the beginning of the modern history of the house.
This two-story house represents an extraordinary example of very late classicism architecture of the second half and third quarter of the 19th century. Inside the interior of the house, the following elements can be considered valuable: natural stone flooring on the landing of the stairs, oak stairs to the first floor including a circular cross-section iron handrail, internal entrances in a classicist style, a glazed veranda made in combination with timbered walls made to the high level of the then joinery craftsmanship. This veranda is enclosed with a safety roller blind made from corrugated iron. During the construction works performed on the property, a 10 m long arched cellar built from Mušlov limestone bricks was discovered. The historically valuable element of the garden is an old Jewish stone fountain.
Who is responsible for houses with soul?
Specifically, people who manage to turn their dream, their idea into reality. As luck would have it, at the end of 2006 we had the opportunity to experience the beauty of Telč. My wife and I were so impressed by this scenic fairytale town that we decided to try to enjoy its beauty not only as tourists but also as owners of one of the magnificent buildings on the square. The opportunity arose in 2007, when we bought the historic house No. 56, we could look further into its history, the development of the building and in particular the fate of the people who lived there for centuries and created the home. Every generation left their indelible architectural footprint, their story and their spirit. All of this had a large effect on us. An important milestone was the year 2008, when my wife and I ended our long-term employment, and we thought about the next chapter in our lives. Our older son Michael had finished college and was looking for employment. Then came a decision to try to run a family business in tourism and turn our fascination with ancient places with genius loci into a hotel project in historic buildings. In 2009, we managed to obtain more historically valuable buildings in Český Krumlov and Mikulov.
We established the company Athanor CZ s.r.o., which formally encompassed our business plan, thus creating the technical and administrative assumptions for conducting trade. Then all that was left was to bring the idea to life. Then all that was left was to bring the idea to life. With the opening of Pension Baltazar in Mikulov on the 9th of March 2009, the dream became a reality. Chornitzerův dům in Telč was put into operation on the 1st of January 2010 and Pension Athanor was opened in Český Krumlov on the magical day of 11th of November 2011. Since the intention was to create a family project, it is clear that
the family team played a decisive role in the project implementation, which was strengthened in 2011 by our youngest son Martin. Nevertheless, we would like to mention some of the partners who significantly contributed to the project. These are in particular the architect David Maliňák who designed the interiors of our houses in Telč and Český Krumlov, Mr. Vaclav Pelikán from the construction company Status Pelhřimov and Mr. Karel Mikala from the joinery KMT Míškovice. The dictionary tells us that genius loci is a Latin phrase meaning “the spirit of a place”. In Roman mythology genius loci was a spirit or god, protecting a certain place. It is now almost 10 years since our fascination with ancient places spawned the idea to invest in a historic home with a soul. It seems that Roman mythology did not lie and our idol still stands with us. Evidence of this can be seen in our satisfied and returning guests. We believe that this will continue. We obviously also have to attribute ourselves, the whole family, to providing a helping hand in this. We must preserve our idol.
We wish you many beautiful memories from your stay at Houses with soul
Helena and Rudolf Jílek
Visit our houses
Pension Athanor is located on the picturesque Plešivecké náměstí, only 300 meters from the historic center of Český Krumlov, which has been a UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage site since 1992. Winding streets, romantic hideaways, and a unique complex of town houses, this all makes up Český Krumlov.
Chornitzer house is located on the most beautiful square in our country, called náměstí Zachariáše z Hradce, in Telč. Due to the fact that the historic center of the two has maintained its distinctive appearance from the days of Zacharias of Hradec it was registered in 1992 as a UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage site.
Pension Baltazar is located in the former Jewish quarter, in the lower part of the scenic Husova Street. This street is an important part of the urban conservation area. The old Jewish houses create fascinating scenery, watched over by the mighty guardian of the town, the nearby ancient Dietrichstein chateau.
Residence Adalbert is located in the town Valtice, in the lower part of the wine street Josefská. Valtice is a small wine town and it is proud of the title „the capital city of wine“. Valtice and its surroundings is a part of the Lednice-Valtice Area that was registered in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Index.